Career Achievement Award

ESPEN awards professionals, preferably newly retired, who has been particularly successful to improve clinical nutritional practice with the ESPEN Career Achievement Award. This Award is given to a person who, during the course if her/his career, has made major contributions to markedly improve the clinical practice. The contribution can be internationally recognized, or of particular importance at the national level or both. The contributions can be multiple, multi facetted but must have made major impact for improving clinical practice in nutritional care. This award is not primarily to be given to award novel research findings, but rather actions or improvements of the use of proper nutritional care. Examples of actions or achievements that could merit for this award could be (but not by any means limited to) actions such as for instance developing educational material, implementation tools, systems for recognition of need for nutritional care, developing national strategies in nutritional care or building successful national societies etc. First Career Achievement Award was presented in 2010 at the ESPEN General Assembly at the Nice Congress.

These exceptional members are:

Professor Regina KOMSA Bulgaria    2017
Professor Ibolya NYULASI  Australia 2016
Professor John SHAFFER United Kingdom 2015
Professor Merce PLANAS Spain 2014
Professor Mois BAHAR Turkey 2013
Professor Lubos SOBOTKA Czech Republic 2011
Professor Pat HOWARD United Kingdom 2010







The Award is decided upon by the ESPEN Executive Committee, but nominations of Awardees can be made by ESPEN members to the General Secretary with an appropriate motivation and a CV of the Nominee.